Breaking News

Another On This Day in Oasis History...

Heathen Chemistry is the fifth studio album by English rock band Oasis, first released on July 1st 2002. It sold over 1 million copies in the UK, ending up in the top ten best selling albums of 2002, and about 4 million worldwide as of 2005.

Heathen Chemistry was received more warmly than the previous Oasis album, Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, by both fans and critics alike. It spawned four singles, each of which made the top three in the UK charts: "The Hindu Times", their sixth number one single in the UK, "Stop Crying Your Heart Out", a song made famous as it was played on the BBC when the English football team were knocked out of the World Cup, the Double A-Side, sung by Noel — "Little By Little/She Is Love" — and "Songbird", the first single written by Liam.

This album was the last one to feature the band's longtime drummer, Alan White, who left in early 2004, with Noel Gallagher claiming White's commitment to the band wasn't up to scratch. He was effectively replaced with Ringo Starr's son, Zak Starkey.

Album History

The title of the album, according to Noel, came from a t-shirt he bought in Ibiza which featured a logo reading, "The Society of Heathen Chemists". Similarly, the name of the first single, "The Hindu Times", originated from a logo on a t-shirt that read the same thing, which Noel saw during a photo shoot for GQ's 100 Greatest Guitarists edition. The name was given to the track when it was just an instrumental, as all the instrumentals of this album were given actual titles as opposed to "Instrumental 1", etc., and the name stuck once the track was finished.

The album was recorded during 2001–early 2002, and was the first studio album written and recorded with the two new members, bassist Andy Bell and rhythm guitarist Gem Archer. Bell and Archer wrote one track each, and Liam Gallagher contributed three, thus the album signalled the end of Noel Gallagher songs dominating Oasis albums (though Liam had contributed "Little James" to Standing on the Shoulder of Giants).

The release of the album was overshadowed by an internet leak of all 11 tracks almost three months prior to release. However, listeners of the commercially released album heard slight differences to two tracks, "Little By Little" and "Better Man".

Music Videos

Track listing

01: "The Hindu Times"
02: "Force Of Nature"
03: "Hung In A Bad Place"
04: "Stop Crying Your Heart Out"
05: "Songbird"
06: "Little By Little"
07: "A Quick Peep"
08: "(Probably) All In the Mind"
09: "She Is Love"
10: "Born On A Different Cloud"
11: "Better Man"

Release Date: 1 July 2002

Highest Chart Position: No 1 in the UK

Written By: Tracks 1,2,4,6,8,9 by Noel Gallagher. Tracks 5,10,11 written by Liam Gallagher. Track 3 written by Gem Archer. Track 7 written by Andy Bell Creations Songs Ltd/ Warner Chappell Music Ltd.

Produced By: Oasis

Recorded At: Wheeler End and Olympic Studios, England.

No comments